UM/Jackson Pain Management Fellowship Program Receives Competitive Award

The University of Miami/Jackson Memorial Hospital Pain Medicine Fellowship Program is the recipient of the 2014 Pain Medicine Fellowship Excellence Award from the American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM).

This is the first time the program has won the highly competitive award, which annually recognizes one program among all ACGME accredited institutions in the United States.

The award honors the UM/Jackson program for providing an exceptional learning experience to fellows, preparing them to deliver the highest standard of care to patients with pain, and for emulating the AAPM’s mission to optimize the health of patients in pain and advance the practice and specialty of pain medicine. In addition to complimentary registrations for two fellows to attend the AAPM’s annual meeting in Phoenix, AZ, the fellowship program, led by Constantine Sarantopoulos, M.D., Ph.D., also has received recognition in Pain Medicine, the official journal of the academy.

“This award is a great distinction for our Pain Medicine Program and the Medical School,” said Sarantopoulos, professor of anesthesiology and Chief of the Division of Pain Management. “The American Academy of Pain Medicine, through this prestigious award, has recognized our efforts to establish our pain management clinics as centers of excellence for training the new generation of pain specialist doctors. Because at the same time we teach what we practice, the award also recognizes our program as a clinical center of excellence for delivering the best possible care to patients suffering from pain, who visit us not only from the state of Florida but from all over the world.”

Sarantopoulos credited “teamwork and great support” for earning the distinction.

“This recognition is the result of hard work and collaboration between departments,” he said, thanking faculty and chairs from the Departments of Anesthesiology, Neurology, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences for their outstanding leadership and ongoing support. Sarantopoulos also shared the recognition with his staff and fellows who helped make the program a success.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update