Two Miller School Faculty Members to Receive Faculty Senate Awards

Two Miller School faculty members have been chosen to receive two of the three annual awards the Faculty Senate bestows to recognize exceptional efforts in three key areas of academia – scholarly achievement, teaching and service.

Margaret Fischl, M.D., professor of medicine, Director of the Miami AIDS Clinical Research Unit and Co-Director of the Miami Center for AIDS Research (CFAR), will be the 2013 recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award. Richard Myers, Ph.D., lecturer in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, will be honored with the Outstanding Teaching Award.

Fischl, who is also co-director of the regulatory component of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI), has been making groundbreaking contributions to the epidemiology, pathophysiology and treatment of HIV/AIDS since the deadly worldwide epidemic first emerged in 1980.

“I can think of no individual scholar who is more deserving of this award,” Lisa Metsch, Ph.D., wrote in her nomination letter. Metsch is chair of Sociomedical Sciences at Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health and formerly led the Miami CFAR’s behavioral/social sciences and community outreach core.

The Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award recognizes Fischl’s lifetime of distinguished accomplishments in research and community outreach.

“I am honored to accept the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award on behalf of myself, colleagues who I have collaborated with over the years, my hard-working staff, and most importantly, for all the patients who have participated in our studies,” said Fischl.

Myers, a leading educator in the field of biochemistry and molecular biology, was nominated for his unique teaching style by the late Walter A. Scott, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, who passed away January 28.

“Dr. Scott passed away just days before the award announcement, which makes receiving it bittersweet, but even more deeply appreciated,” Myers said.

In his nomination letter, Scott described Myers as a “truly intuitive and enthusiastic teacher who cares about the students he teaches and has a gift for communicating complex concepts as well as the excitement of exploring molecular biology.”

Myers has consistently received top evaluations from his students since he began teaching at the University in 1997 and has been selected twice as Outstanding Student Mentor. He also won the Stanley J. Glaser Research Award for his outstanding research, which focuses on genetic recombination in stem cells and bacteria and the development of innovative genetic systems for studying human diseases.

The award honors Myers’ substantial teaching record and his commitment to students and their academic success.

In addition to Fischl and Myers, Steven G. Ullmann, Ph.D., professor of management and economics at the UM School of Business Administration and Director of the school’s Programs in Health Sector Management and Policy, will receive this year’s James W. McLamore Outstanding Service Award.

The awards ceremony and reception will take place Wednesday, April 10, at 5 p.m. in Storer Auditorium at the School of Business Administration on the Coral Gables campus. All members of the University community are invited to attend.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update