Miller School’s Dr. Richard Thurer to Receive James W. McLamore Outstanding Service Award

Richard J. Thurer, M.D., the B and Donald Carlin Professor of Thoracic Surgical Oncology, is the 2010 recipient of the prestigious Faculty Senate James W. McLamore Outstanding Service Award.

Established on the 25th anniversary of the Faculty Charter, the annual award was established by the Faculty Senate to recognize extraordinary service. Each year, faculty members are invited to nominate an exemplary member of the University community. With a recommendation from the General Welfare Committee, the recipient is then selected by the Faculty Senate.

Dr. Thurer has served as a skilled thoracic surgeon at the Miller School for the past 38 years. And with a passion for teaching and a major clinical interest in lung cancer, it is no surprise that he took on the leadership role as co-chair for the Smoke Free Campus Initiative.

“The Smoke Free Initiative was important, because it demonstrates the fact that we are sending a consistent message as a health care organization,” said Thurer.

Thanks to his commitment to improving the health of the community, the entire Miller School, UHealth and Jackson Health System medical campus is now smoke free.

In March, Thurer was appointed to the newly created position of Ombudsperson for the Miller School, which was designed to provide faculty with an outlet to discuss issues and improve open communication and problem solving. He also served as senior associate dean for faculty affairs for nearly five years, as speaker of the school faculty council for four years, and as second and first vice chair of the Faculty Senate.

“I’m very excited,” Thurer said about the award. “There are many outstanding faculty and staff who have made contributions and are worthy of recognition. To be selected University-wide out of such an incredible group of people … I am so honored.”

UM President Donna E. Shalala and the Faculty Senate will host a special awards ceremony and reception in honor of Dr. Thurer and the Distinguished Faculty Scholar and Outstanding Teaching Award recipients, who will be announced in January. The awards ceremony will be held on Wednesday, April 13, at 5 p.m. on the Coral Gables campus in Storer Auditorium.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update