Three Miller School Labs Named “Lab of the Year”

Three labs on the Miller School campus tied for the 2013 Lab of the Year award from the University of Miami Office of Environmental Health and Safety. The chemistry research lab of College of Arts and Sciences Dean Leonidas G. Bachas on the Coral Gables campus received the same honor.

The Office of Environmental Health and Safety chose the four labs after conducting rigorous assessments of the more than 1,000 labs on all three campuses to ensure their compliance with federal, state, and local policies and procedures. Earning the top honor on the medical campus, home to the overwhelming majority of University labs, were the immunomonitoring and histocompatibility laboratory of Phillip Ruiz, M.D., Ph.D.; the molecular and cellular pharmacology laboratory of Michael Kim, Ph.D., both at the Rosenstiel Medical Science Building; and the hematology and oncology lab of Krishna Komanduri, M.D., at the Biomedical Research Building.

“The labs were selected for exceptional cooperation and compliance with local, state, and federal regulations regarding laboratory safety,” said Jairo Betancourt, biosafety manager for the office, noting each of the labs has a history of excellent reviews, and of submitting paperwork well in advance of every deadline.

The office’s mission is to ensure the University’s compliance with health, safety, and environmental regulations, and to provide support and training in an effort to avoid occupational, biological, and chemical hazards. Through its Laboratory Safety Program, the office has the responsibility of ensuring compliance with all applicable regulations and ensuring that good laboratory practices are implemented for the protection of laboratory employees, the community, and the environment.

Komanduri’s lab is staffed by Despina Kolonias, Eric Wieder, Ph.D., Daniel Dammrich, M.D., Dietlinde Wolf, Ph.D., and Cara Benjamin, M.D. The Ruiz lab includes Nicole Lergier, Alex Amador, Yasmine Perez, and Fola Amole. The Kim lab includes Kimberly Rowland. The Bachas lab members include Elsayed Zahran, Ph.D., Megan Gillespie, Jeramy Baum, and Ed Miller.

For more information on the Office of Environmental Health and Safety, visit the office website.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update