New Iron Arrow Tappees Humbled and Honored

David Birnbach, M.D., M.P.H., Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Director of the University of Miami-Jackson Memorial Hospital Center for Patient Safety, thought he was meeting with Provost Thomas J. LeBlanc, Ph.D., when the tribe interrupted the meeting.

“At first, as I heard the drum, I thought about who might be the recipient, and it never dawned on me that they were here for me,” said Birnbach, who is also Senior Associate Dean for Quality, Safety and Risk. “When the door crashed open and I was flung into the whirlwind of activity, I was at first shocked, then thrilled, and ultimately humbled by the great honor.”

Thirty-one students, faculty, staff, and alumni, including nine from the Miller School, were tapped last Wednesday and Thursday into the University of Miami Iron Arrow Honor Society.

Iron Arrow was started in 1926, about a month after the University of Miami opened. It honors individuals who show a love of alma mater and embody the qualities of good character, leadership, scholarship, and humility.
There are more than 2,900 members.

In addition to Birnbach, the eight other people tapped from the Miller School were:

Patricia Byers, M.D., professor of surgery in the DeWitt Daughtry Family Department of Surgery in the Division of Trauma, Critical Care and Burns

Ryan Dauer, Miller School student, class of 2015

Barry Gelman, M.D., associate professor of pediatrics and Chief Medical Officer of UM/Holtz Children’s Hospital

Erin Kobetz-Kerman, Ph.D., M.P.H., associate professor of public health sciences, Director of the Disparities and Community Outreach Core Resources, Director of the Jay Weiss Institute for Health Equity at Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center and Co-Director of the Community Engagement and Cultural Diversity Program of the Miami CTSI

Michael Maguire, Miller School student, class of 2015

Angelica Melillo, Miller School student, class of 2016

Richard Thurer, M.D., professor of surgery, former Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Faculty Ombudsperson

Kristy Whyte, Miller School student, class of 2015

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update