Family Medicine’s School Health Initiative Receives All Star Award for Innovation

The Miller School’s Dr. John T. Macdonald Foundation School Health Initiative took home the All Star Non-Profit Award for Innovation at Switchboard Miami’s inaugural awards luncheon, held November 9 at Jungle Island to recognize and celebrate the vital work of non-profits in our community.

The School Health Initiative, a partnership between the Dr. John T. Macdonald Foundation and the Miller School Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, offers free health care services to children in eight Miami-Dade County public schools.

Under the leadership of Arthur M. Fournier, M.D., Associate Dean for Community Health and professor and vice chair of family medicine and community health, and Medical Director Joycelyn Lawrence, M.D., assistant professor of family medicine and community health, the school program received a $4 million federal Health Care Innovation Award this year to expand services for 12,000 Miami-Dade County public school students. Now the students can receive mental and dental health services through their school clinics, and a team of 17 community health workers can target families to provide a vital link between school-based clinics and home-based health care.

Switchboard Miami, a non-profit organization that, with just one call, connects people in need with community resources and provides counseling 24 hours a day, seven days a week, established the awards this year to recognize Miami-Dade non-profits for their tireless work to help the community.

The Early Discovery Program at the Mailman Center for Child Development was a finalist in the innovation category.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update