Miller School Students Shine at American Academy of Neurology Annual Meeting

Three second-year Miller School students were recognized at the American Academy of Neurology 2013 Annual Meeting in San Diego.

Thomas Hughes became the first Miller School student to be awarded the AAN Minority Scholarship, which recognizes significant achievements in neurology by medical students, and Christine Greer received the AAN SIGN (Student Interest Group in Neurology) Scholarship. Both awards allowed the students to attend the AAN annual meeting.

Kevin Fu also was recognized for his superior work and statistical analysis on the project he shared with Hughes, “Age-Related Memory Loss and Alzheimer’s Disease: A Randomized, Interactive Web-Based Educational Intervention Study,” which was selected for presentation at the annual meeting, held March 16-23.

Fu was unable to attend, making Hughes the first and only medical student ever to make a platform presentation at the Education Research Scientific Session. In their study, Hughes and Fu assessed the benefit of an interactive, web-based educational intervention on differentiating between age-related memory loss and Alzheimer’s disease.

Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S., professor and chair of neurology, the Olemberg Family Chair in Neurological Disorders and Executive Director of the McKnight Brain Institute, congratulated the students for their success. “We are very proud of your accomplishments,” Sacco wrote in an email. “Keep up the great work.”

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update