Miller School Educator Receives Faculty Mentor of the Year Award

Christopher Estes, M.D., assistant professor of clinical obstetrics and gynecology, was honored with the Faculty Mentor of the Year Award by the international Medical Students for Choice organization for his outstanding guidance and support of the Miller School’s chapter.

Estes received the award at the nonprofit’s annual Conference on Family Planning, held November 10-11 in St. Louis, from the Miller School’s Lydia Fein, an M.D./M.P.H. student who, along with her classmate Brigitte Frett and medical students Ian Bishop and Christine Greer, nominated Estes for the award.

“The spirit of being pro-choice encompasses more than a woman’s right to have an abortion,” Estes said. “It is about respect for patient autonomy and justice in the health care system.”

The students lauded Estes, who serves as faculty mentor for the Miller School’s chapter of Medical Students for Choice, for being a “remarkable example” of a physician advocate for women’s health and “role model for their future careers.”

With more than 150 chapters worldwide and more than 10,000 medical student members, Medical Students for Choice has a successful track record of destigmatizing abortion and working with medical schools and residency programs to include abortion as a part of the reproductive health services curriculum.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update