Iron Arrow Taps Stuart Miller and Eight Medical Campus Faculty, Alumni and Students

The first indication that something is afoot is the sound of a slow-beating drum moving across campus. When the source of the sound comes into view, you see that the drummer is accompanied by a group of individuals wearing colorful jackets and marching slowly, solemnly in line. For those in the know, the big question is: Who are they looking for this time?

“They” are members of Iron Arrow, the University of Miami’s most elite honor society, and they are inducting new members — a practice that occurs each fall and spring. Those selected by secret ballot are “tapped” with a symbolic arrow made of iron, taken from whatever they are doing and led away to a ceremony that is the beginning of their membership induction. Those selected don’t know they have been chosen for membership, and getting them to a specific place at a given time from which they can be led away often involves an elaborate ruse – an invitation to a meeting that has no real purpose, a quiet cup of coffee at a strange hour of the day, or simply a stroll with a friend that will put them in the path of the drum-led parade.

Of the 28 individuals tapped in Iron Arrow’s spring 2019 initiation on March 20 — selected because they exemplify love of alma mater, character, leadership, scholarship, and humility — nine were from the medical campus or had affiliations with the Miller School of Medicine:

Gaetano Ciancio, M.D., M.B.A., the Brandon and Kyle Simonsen Professor of Surgery and Urology at the Miller School, and director of the kidney and kidney/pancreas transplant program at the Miami Transplant Institute.

Caitlin Coviello, M.D./M.B.A. program student and president of the Miller School of Medicine Student Government.

Alessia Fornoni, M.D., Ph.D., professor of medicine, chief of the Katz Family Division of Nephrology and Hypertension, director of the Peggy and Harold Katz Family Drug Discovery Center, associate director of the NIH-funded Medical Scientist Training Program, and co-director of the Miami CTSI Institutional Career Development Core (KL2) and Translational Workforce Development Program.

Pepi Granat, M.D. ’62, a Miller School alumna and family physician practicing in Miami.

Megan McSherry, Miller School Class of 2019; advisory board member, co-founder and director of communications for the Miller School’s “Debbie Project.”

Stuart Miller, member and former president of the University of Miami Board of Trustees, CEO and chairman of the Lennar Corporation.

David Roth, M.D., past chief, Division of Nephrology, Miller School Department of Medicine.

Emmanuel Thomas, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of microbiology and immunology.

Clara Troccoli, third-year Ph.D. candidate, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center trainee in the Sheila and David Fuente Graduate Program in Cancer Biology.

A gallery of all medical campus Iron Arrow photos is available here.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update