Roberto Heros, M.D., Awarded Prestigious 2010 Harvey Cushing Medal

Roberto C. Heros, M.D., professor and co-chair of neurological surgery and residency program director, was honored with the 2010 Harvey Cushing Medal, the highest award given to a neurosurgeon by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS). A Miller School faculty member for 15 years who is internationally known in his field, Heros was recognized for his dedication and contributions to neurosurgery and his outstanding leadership in the AANS, a scientific and educational association.

Heros, who served as AANS president for the 2002-2003 term and has been a member of the group since 1980, accepted the Cushing Medal on May 4 at the organization’s annual meeting in Philadelphia.

“It was a great honor to receive this recognition from our national organization,” Heros said. “This is the highest award given to a neurosurgeon in this country and it was very humbling to look around the audience and see so many neurosurgical colleagues that deserved this award more than I do. “

At the ceremony, Heros made it clear that patients and residents, two groups to whom he is fiercely dedicated, played important roles in his successful career. “I owe it all to my patients who for 35 years have placed their confidence and their lives, sometimes with catastrophic results for them, in my hands,” he said from the stage. “These experiences, both good and bad, have fueled my passion for teaching and mentoring neurosurgical residents. To the latter goes my highest gratitude for making my life as a neurosurgeon so fulfilling and rewarding.”

Heros is also the founding director of the University of Miami International Health Center. His clinical areas of expertise include cerebrovascular surgery, aneurysms, arteriovenous malformations, and brain tumors.

Among his many AANS milestones, Heros served as president of the recent XIV World Congress of Neurological Surgery of the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies in Boston and is currently honorary president of the World Congress. He also travels worldwide to teach neurological surgery and make scientific presentations to various organizations.

In the letter that announced the award to Heros, AANS President Troy M. Tippett, M.D., singled out his contributions to neurosurgical education, his efforts in helping to bring the XIV World Congress of Neurological Surgery to fruition, and his personal traits and scientific honesty – “models for all neurosurgeons” that “deserve the highest recognition our specialty can bestow.”

The AANS was founded in 1931 as the Harvey Cushing Society and has more than 7,600 members worldwide. The organization is dedicated to advancing the specialty of neurological surgery in order to provide the highest quality of neurosurgical care to patients.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update