Dr. Tomás A. Salerno Re-elected for Fourth Term as Faculty Senate President

Tomás A. Salerno, M.D., professor and chief emeritus of cardiothoracic surgery, vice chair of the Peer Review Committee of University of Miami Hospital and vice chair for faculty mentoring and development in the Department of Surgery, was re-elected chair of the Faculty Senate for a fourth one-year term. Salerno, who has served in the Senate since 2008, was re-elected for the 2017-18 academic year at the body’s election meeting on April 26.

Linda L. Neider, Ph.D., professor of management, professor of health sector management and policy, director of the M.S. program specializing in leadership, and curriculum coordinator for the Human Capital in the Global MBA Program for the Americas at the School of Business Administration, who has been a Senate member since 1979, was re-elected to her fourth term as first vice-chair.

JoNel Newman, J.D., professor of clinical legal education and director of the Health Rights Clinic at the School of Law, was re-elected to a second one-year term as second vice-chair. She has been a Senate member since 2011.

All of the newly elected Senate officers will begin serving their one-year terms on June 1.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update