Dr. Tomás A. Salerno Elected to Third Term as President of Faculty Senate

Tomás A. Salerno, M.D., the DeWitt C. Daughtry Chair in Cardiothoracic Surgery and professor of surgery at the Miller School of Medicine, was re-elected chair of the University of Miami Faculty Senate for a third one-year term at the governing body’s April 27 election meeting.

Also re-elected to a third one-year term as first vice chair was Linda L. Neider, professor of management in the School of Business Administration.

A Senate member since 2011, JoNel Newman, professor of clinical legal education in the School of Law, was elected to her first one-year term as second-vice chair.

Salerno, who joined the Miller School in 1999, has served in the Senate since 2008. Neider initially began serving in the Senate shortly after joining the UM faculty in 1979.

All of the newly elected Senate officers will begin serving their one-year terms on June 1.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update