Dr. Jay S. Skyler Among This Year’s Faculty Senate Award Honorees

The Faculty Senate voted at its January meeting to award its highest honors to three outstanding faculty members: Jay S. Skyler, M.D., René Sacasas, J.D., and Mary E. Mckay, D.N.P.

Skyler, professor of medicine, pediatrics, and psychology at the Miller School of Medicine and Deputy Director for Clinical Research and Academic Programs at the Diabetes Research Institute, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award for his groundbreaking Type 1 diabetes research, which has led to improved care.

Sacasas, professor and chair of the Business Law Department at the School of Business Administration, will be honored with the James W. McLamore Outstanding Service Award for his selfless contributions to the lives of faculty, students, and staff during his three decades at the University.

Mckay, assistant professor of clinical and Associate Dean for Nursing Undergraduate Programs at the School of Nursing and Health Studies, will receive the Outstanding Teaching Award for her contributions to the quality of education for students and for inspiring faculty to develop new and innovative teaching strategies.

The awardees will be honored at the Faculty Senate Annual Awards ceremony at 5 p.m. Wednesday, April 15, in the Storer Auditorium on the Coral Gables campus. All three faculty members will deliver short lectures. The University community is invited to join in celebrating these three extraordinary members of the faculty.

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update