Department of Surgery Honors Donors at Heroes for Hope Awards Gala

The DeWitt Daughtry Family Department of Surgery held its inaugural Heroes for Hope Donor Recognition Dinner at Jungle Island on December 14 to honor corporate and individual donors whose generous philanthropic contributions have furthered medical research and changed the lives of countless patients in the South Florida community.

During the awards presentation, Alan S. Livingstone, M.D., the Lucille and DeWitt Daughtry Professor of Surgery and Executive Dean for Clinical Affairs, paid tribute to the donors.

“The department is forever grateful for the significant contributions from our individual donors and corporate partners,” he said. “It is through their boundless trust in us that we can do all the things we do to further research and education and provide excellence in patient care.”

At the event, attended by more than 750 guests, including department faculty and staff, a grateful patient pledged $1 million to support the Division of Surgical Oncology.

Nicholas Namias, M.D., professor and acting Chair of Surgery, joined Livingstone and other faculty members to present the Heroes for Hope awards to the Sabga family, Abbot and Deborah Estrin, Richard Azar, Jan Yelen and the Kimmelman Foundation, James Daughtry and the Daughtry Family, Joe Radman and Biomet 3I Corporation, and Mike Teague of the KLS Martin Corporation.

Honoree Richard Azar, a longtime supporter of the department, told guests, “My life has been forever changed due to the ‘Man with the Golden Hands.’ If it were not for Dr. Alan Livingstone, I would not be here today, and for that I will be forever grateful.”

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean

Physician News

Read Med News


Read e-Update