About Miller: Leadership



Steven M. Altschuler, M.D.
Senior Vice President of Health Affairs & Chief Executive Officer, UHealth


Edward Abraham, M.D.
Dean and Chief Academic Officer, Miller School of Medicine

Faculty Affairs

F. Daniel Armstrong, Ph.D.
(Interim) Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Norman H. Altman, V.M.D.
Faculty Ombudsperson

Diversity and Multicultural Affairs

Stephen N. Symes, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Diversity and Multicultural Affairs


Steven F. Falcone, M.D.
Executive Dean for Clinical Affairs
David J. Birnbach, M.D., M.P.H.
Senior Associate Dean for Quality, Safety and Risk Prevention
Anne E. Burdick, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Dean for TeleHealth and Clinical Outreach
Eduardo de Marchena, M.D.
Associate Dean for International Medicine
Michael J. Federman, M.D.
Associate Dean of Business Development for Palm Beach County


Dushyantha T. Jayaweera, M.D.
Executive Dean for Research & Research Education
W. Dalton Dietrich, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Discovery Science
Joshua M. Hare, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Experimental and Cellular Therapeutics
Erin Kobetz, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Senior Associate Dean for Health Disparity
Zafar Nawaz, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
Ralph L. Sacco M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Science
Ashok K. Saluja, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Research Development
Claes Wahlestedt, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Therapeutic Innovations
Jonelle E. Wright, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Regulatory Support and Quality Improvement


Laurence B. Gardner, M.D.
Executive Dean for Education and Policy
Barth A. Green, M.D.
Executive Dean for Global Health and Community Service
Alex J. Mechaber, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
S. Barry Issenberg, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Research in Medical Education
Joan St. Onge, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Ana E. Campo, M.D.
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Amar R. Deshpande, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Medical Education and Competency Assessment
Hilit F. Mechaber, M.D.
Associate Dean for Student Services
Paul Mendez, M.D.
Associate Dean for Clinical Curriculum
Richard K. Parrish, II, M.D.
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Richard L. Riley, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Preclinical Curriculum
Richard S. Weisman, Pharm.D.
Associate Dean for Medical Admissions and Enrollment
Yvonne M. Diaz, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Marie-Denise Gervais, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Admissions and Diversity
Chris Alabiad, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Arvey I. Rogers, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Continuing Medical Education


Daniel M. Lichtstein, M.D.
Regional Dean for Medical Education
Regional Campus, Palm Beach County
Gauri Agarwal, M.D.
Associate Regional Dean for Medical Curriculum
Regional Campus, Palm Beach County
Julia Belkowitz, M.D.
Assistant Regional Dean for Student Affairs
Regional Campus, Palm Beach County
Amy Zito, M.D.
Assistant Regional Dean for Student Services
Regional Campus, Palm Beach County


Clinical Chairs

Eduardo C. Alfonso, M.D.
Chair, Ophthalmology
Robert W. Irwin, M.D.
(Interim) Chair, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Richard J. Cote, M.D.
Chair, Pathology
Frank J. Eismont , M.D.
Chair, Orthopaedics
Allan D. Levi, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair, Neurological Surgery
Ira S. Karmin, M.D
Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Neva Kirk-Sanchez, Ph.D.
Chair, Physical Therapy
Robert S. Kirsner, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair, Dermatology and Cutaneous Surgery
Omaida C. Velazquez, M.D.
Chair, Surgery
David A. Lubarsky, M.D.
Chair, Anesthesiology
Charles B. Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Govindarajan Narayanan, M.D.
Chair, Interventional Radiology
Dipen J. Parekh, M.D.
Chair, Urology
Alan Pollack, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair, Radiation Oncology
Robert M. Quencer, M.D.
Chair, Radiology
Ralph L. Sacco, M.D.
Chair, Neurology
Judith L. Schaechter, M.D.
Chair, Pediatrics
E. Robert Schwartz, M.D.
Chair, Family Medicine and Community Health
Fred F. Telischi, M.D.
Chair, Otolaryngology
Roy E. Weiss, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair, Medicine
Stephan Z├╝chner, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair, Dr. John T. Macdonald Foundation Department of Human Genetics

Basic Science Chairs

Glen N. Barber, Ph.D.
Chair, Cell Biology
Sylvia Daunert, Ph.D., Pharm.D.
Chair, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Charles W. Luetje, Ph.D.
Chair, Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology
Karl L. Magleby, Ph.D.
Chair, Physiology and Biophysics
Thomas Malek, Ph.D.
(Interim) Chair, Microbiology and Immunology
Sunil Rao, Ph.D.
Chair, Public Health Sciences

Center and Institute Directors

Eduardo Alfonso, M.D.
Director, Bascom Palmer Eye Institute
Daniel Armstrong, Ph.D.
Director, Mailman Center for Child Development
David J. Birnbach, M.D.
Director, Center for Patient Safety
Gaetano Ciancio, M.D.
Chief Academic Officer, Miami Transplant Institute
Eduardo de Marchena, M.D.
Director, International Medicine Institute
W. Dalton Dietrich, Ph.D.
Director, Miami Project to Cure Paralysis
Alessia Fornoni M.D., Ph.D.
Director and Chair, Peggy and Harold Katz Family Drug Discovery Center
Kenneth Goodman, Ph.D.
Director, Institute for Bioethics and Health Policy
Joshua M. Hare, M.D.
Director, Interdisciplinary Stem Cell Institute
S. Barry Issenberg, M.D.
Director, Michael S. Gordon Center for Research in Medical Education
Norma Sue Kenyon, Ph.D.
Director, Wallace H. Coulter Center for Translational Research
Clyde B. McCoy, Ph.D.
Director, Comprehensive Drug Research Center
Charles B. Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Center on Aging
Margaret A. Pericak-Vance, Ph.D.
Director, John P. Hussman Institute for Human Genomics
Camillo Ricordi, M.D.
Director, Diabetes Research Institute
Stephen D. Nimer, M.D.
Director, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center
Rodrigo Vianna, M.D.
Director, Miami Transplant Institute at Jackson Memorial Hospital
Keith Webster, Ph.D.
Director, Vascular Biology Institute
JoAnn Van Schaik, M.L.S.
Director, Health Informatics and Deputy University Librarian