Latest News

Scott C. Brown, Ph.D., left, with Joanna Lombard, M.Arch.

Scott C. Brown, Ph.D., left, with Joanna Lombard, M.Arch.

UM Study Links Neighborhood Greenness to Reduction in Chronic Diseases among Miami-Dade Seniors

A new study of a quarter-million Miami-Dade County Medicare beneficiaries showed that higher levels of neighborhood greenness, including trees, grass and other vegetation, were linked to a significant reduction in the rate of chronic illnesses, particularly in low- to middle-income neighborhoods.

Led by researchers at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine’s Department of Public Health Sciences and the University of Miami School of Architecture, the study showed that higher greenness was linked to significantly lower rates of diabetes, hypertension and high cholesterol, as well as fewer chronic health conditions.

The findings, published online April 6 by the American Journal of Preventive Medicine, are based on 2010-11 health data reported for approximately 250,000 Miami-Dade Medicare beneficiaries over age 65, and a measure of vegetative presence based on NASA satellite imagery. The study was the first of its kind to examine block-level greenness and its relationship to health outcomes in older adults, and the first to measure the impact of greenness on specific cardio-metabolic diseases.

Read more about the research »

More News

Robert J. Myerburg, M.D.

UHealth Cardiologist Sees Life-Saving Benefits in ECG Screening of Youth and College Athletes

Robert J. Myerburg, M.D., professor of medicine and physiology, and the American Heart Association Chair in Cardiovascular Research, has written a pair of journal articles supporting electrocardiographic (ECG) screening of college athletes and, in principle, screening of children and adolescents not involved in sports.

Read more about ECG screening »

Ralph Sacco, M.D., M.S., and Tatjana Rundek, M.D., Ph.D.

Neurologists Publish Editorial on Stroke Study in New England Journal of Medicine

Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S., professor and Chairman of Neurology, and Olemberg Family Chair in Neurological Disorders, and Tatjana Rundek, M.D., Ph.D., professor of neurology and Vice Chair for Clinical Translational Research, have published an editorial, “The Value of Urgent Specialized Care for TIA and Minor Stroke,” in the New England Journal of Medicine.

Read more about the editorial comments »

Camillo Ricordi, M.D., left, and Rodolfo Alejandro, M.D.

Islet Transplantation Moves Toward an Approved Treatment for Severe Type 1 Diabetes

An unprecedented collaborative study across North America has found that islet transplantation was effective in preventing severe hypoglycemia, or low blood sugar levels, in the treatment of the most severe forms of type 1 diabetes. Eight centers including the Diabetes Research Institute (DRI) at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, participated in the trial.

Read more about islet transplantation »

From left, Eugene Schiff, M.D., Laurence Sands, M.D., M.B.A., Kristin Podack, widow of Eckhard Podack, M.D., Ph.D., and Richard L. Williamson, Jr., J.D.

Senate Presents Highest Honors to Three Miller School Faculty Members

The Faculty Senate last week bestowed its highest honors on Laurence R. Sands, M.D., M.B.A., and Eugene R. Schiff, M.D., two pioneering physicians at the Miller School of Medicine. For the first time, the Senate also conferred a Special Senate Award posthumously, recognizing Eckhard Podack, M.D., Ph.D., the late researcher at Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, for his life-saving discoveries.

Read more about the Faculty Senate awards »

Kenneth W. Goodman, Ph.D.

Florida Health Care Professionals Explore Ethical Issues from AIDS to Zika

A distinguished group of national clinicians, researchers and policymakers took a close look at ethrics-related issues at “Florida Ethics: Debates, Decisions, Solutions,” an April 8 conference sponsored by the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine’s Institute for Bioethics and Health Policy and the Florida Bioethics Network.

Read more about the conference »

News & Events »

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean


Read Med


Read e-Update